Past HRD of the Year Awards

The 2022 awards will be announced at the HRO Today Forum EMEA from 31 October – 2 November, 2022.

Nominations are now open for the 2022 HRD of the Year Awards!

If people are a company’s greatest asset, then HR Directors (HRDs) and Chief HR Officers (CHROs) have a lot riding on their shoulders. We at HRO Today EMEA magazine recognize the strategic business value that HRDs and CHROs bring to their organizations. They are both stewards and strategists, responsible for a company’s talent and performance blueprint, driving both business and the bottom line forward. Our HRD of the Year Award recognizes HR leaders that help drive workforce initiatives through innovation with measurable excellence in employee engagement and retention to prove it. These HRDs are responsible for providing leadership to ensure talent acquisition and retention, business growth, and a culture that can lead in a global workforce.

The HRO Today awards gala is the industry’s best-known and most prestigious event that brings together inspirational innovators and thought leaders.


Congratulations to the 2021 HRD of the Year Award EMEA Leaders of Distinction & Winners:

HRD of the Year – Non-profit
WINNER – Dr. Sally jackson

Chief People Officer​
Sheffield Hallam University

Claudia Noth


Dr. Jouni Kekale

HRD, University of Eastern Finland

HRD of the Year – Mid-Market
WINNER – Ibrahim Musa Umar

CHRO, 9mobile Nigeria

Jennifer Hunt

Chief People Officer, Tech21

Rita Reis

HRD, Portway – Handling de Portugal, S.A

Sophie Toumieux

Global Head of Human Resources, BALT GROUP

HRD of the Year – Large Market
WINNER – Clare Martin

Group HR Director,
Jardine Motors Group

Daniel Sharaiha

CHRO, Bank al Etihad

Hazel Hogben

SVP HR, Interstate Hotels and Resorts

Marilyn Chapman


HRD of the Year – Sustainable Workforce
WINNER – Jordan Barry

Chief People Officer,
Motor Insurers’ Bureau (MIB)

Isabel Camargo

HRD UK and Ireland / Global Head of Learning & Development and Talent Management,

Stephanie Kelly

Chief People Officer
IRIS Software Group

Deyemi Adekoya

Human Resources Administrator Team Lead, IPI PowerTech Nigeria

HRD of the Year – Lifetime Achievement
WINNER – Hayley Tatum

Senior Vice President / Chief People Officer,

Stephen Tio Kauma

Director & Global Head, Human Resources, African Export-Import Bank

Eve Sukhnandan

Chief People Officer,

Frederick Carstens

Group Chief Human Resources Officer, Kuwait Finance House

Congratulations to the 2019 HRD of the Year Award EMEA Leaders of Distinction & Winners!


The 2019 HRD of the Year EMEA Awards Gala and Dinner took place at the Marker Hotel Dublin on 4 November, part of the HRO Today Forum EMEA.

Monica Arora
Head of Human Resources PHASTAR
Joe Cronin
Megan Giannini

WINNER: HRD of the Year, For Profit, Large Enterprise

SVP and Chief HR Officer Lumileds
Dawn Moore

WINNER: HRD of the Year, Sustainable Workforce

Director of Human Resources Morgan Sindall Construction & Infrastructure
Marie Sandler

WINNER: HRD of the Year, For Profit, Small Enterprise

Director of Human Resources DCC OS
Indi Seehra

WINNER: HRD of the Year, Not For Profit

Director of Human Resources London School of Economics and Political Science
Praveen Singh
Global Head - HR Xduce
Mark Stewart

WINNER: HRD of the Year, Lifetime Achievement

HR Director and General Manager Airbus

Congratulations to the 2018 HRD of the Year Award EMEA Leaders of Distinction & Winners:

Pradeep Bhaskaran

WINNER: HRD of the Year, For Profit

HR Head, Global Growth Markets Cognizant
Natasha Dillon

WINNER: HRD of the Year, Innovation

Chief People Officer Inmarsat
Hein Knaapen

WINNER: CHRO of the Year, Sustainable Workforce

Joris Monard
HR Manager Netherlands Siemens
Brighton Mwiinga
Former Head of Human Resources & Administration Prudential Life Zambia
Leena Nair
CHRO Unilever
Enrico A. Palumbo
HR Director SAP (Switzerland) AG
Melvin Rogers
Director of HR Sytner Group
Saurabh Upadhyay
VP, HR AMEA Bacardi Limited

If you have any questions about the awards dinner or the process and timeline, please contact If you are interested in sponsorship opportunities, please contact